Brotherhood lost 55 percent of Doctors Syndicate seats, its opponents say

The Muslim Brotherhood lost 55 percent of syndicate subcommittee seats in the Doctors Syndicate elections that took place on Friday, announced representatives from the Independence list, which is a list of independent candidates supported by liberal and revolutionary groups.

The Independence list had blasted media coverage of the elections, saying it only highlighted the landslide victory of Doctors of Egypt, a Brotherhood-backed list.

Fierce competition between the Muslim Brotherhood and a list of independents in the Doctors Syndicate elections ended with the Brotherhood dominating the syndicate's board.

Saad al-Fatatany, the electoral panel's chief, announced on Sunday that the syndicate's top seat went to Kahiry Abdel Dayem, who ran for Doctors for Egypt.

The Muslim Brotherhood announced it won 18 seats out of 24 in the syndicate's board. Meanwhile, Independence list doctors said that in addition to losing 55 percent of seats in the syndicate's subcommittees, Doctors for Egypt lost 25 percent of the syndicate’s seats for the first time in 20 years.

The Independence list representatives went on to say that they “achieved a great win despite the fact that they ran in the elections for the first time ever.”

They claimed it won the top seats in 15 out of 27 governorates, including Cairo, Alexandria, Port Said, Ismailia, Suez, Red Sea, Gharbiya, Marsa Matrouh, North Sinai, Beni Suef, Minya, Assiut, Sohag, Qena, Aswan, and Luxor.

They also said it won 6 seats in the syndicate's board, as compared to the Doctors for Egypt’s 20 seats, and added that it won all of the syndicate's subcommittee seats in Suez, the Red Sea, Marsa Matrouh, Ismailia, North Sinai, Qena, and Luxor.

It also said it won 14 out of the 16 seats in Cairo; 10 seats out of 12 seats in Alexandria; six out of the eight seats in Port Said and Beni Suef; five out of the eight seats in Aswan; four out of the eight seats in Minya and Sohag; three out of the eight seats in Assiut, Damietta, Qalubiya, and South Sinai; two of the eight seats Kafr al-Sheikh, Fayoum, Monufiya, Beheira; and one seat in Sharqiya.

Translated from the Arabic Edition

Related Articles

Back to top button